Rainbow Moon: The Disappointment

I hate Rainbow Moon. I hate it so much I’m going to write about it. I have a hard time hating games. I have an easy time disliking games, but I don’t dislike this game. I hate it. I started to realized about 6 hours in, but it hit me about 13 hours in. Right now I’ve been playing for 22 hours. I’m going to keep playing, too. I’M GOING TO KEEP PLAYING UNTIL I GET MY GOD DAMNED MONIES WORTH! That means until I start enjoying the game, probably never, or until I beat the game.

After trying for 20 hours and still hating the l game, I’ve harnessed a deep understanding of exactly everything I despise about this game. I’m going to list them in order of hatred an how negatively they impact the game for me.

5. The lack of grid.
This game is a strategy-rpg where the battles all take place on a grid. The only problem is there’s not actually a grid, nor is there an option to place a grid on the board. That means that if the terrain is bumpy often you can’t tell if someone is directly in front of you, or in front of you and slightly to the left. Half the time I have to pull up my attack list and select and attack just so I can move it around so that I can actually see what angle the enemy is at.
4. The script.
This game has a script, and that script is not very good. A lot of the time the storyline are weak, which doesn’t necessarily bother me terribly if the mechanics of the game are fun, but I can’t deal with a weak script. I read everything. I read all the dialogue in all the quests and on all the items. A bunch of this dialogue is just silly. There is a slew of made up words constantly being barraged at my eyes. I have to read it all. I tried to ignore it, but when I do that it often ends up I don’t know where the other half of the quest is (we’ll get to that next).
3. Sloppy inventory management.
This is something a lot of RPGs struggle with, Kingdoms of Amalur being at the front of my mind. I don’t usually mind a sloppy inventory as long as it doesn’t affect me too much. The problem with Rainbow Moon’s inventory is that you can’t view the stats your armor and weapons are giving you vs. the store’s armor’s stats. That means you have to leave the store, look at your armor, remember what is adds, and find out if the stores is better. This wouldn’t be a problem if an upgrade in armor automatically meant it was better. That, however, is not the case. There’s a crafting system so you’re able to improve your own armor. It would be very helpful if you could compare stats side by side to help decide if 15 defense is better than the +10 luck +10 strength your armor is giving you. another problem with management is the quest management. Most of the time the quest details don’t actually give you any details. Someone tells you to go find Arnold near the well and give him an apple. You missed where exactly Arnold was, so you try talking to the NPC again. Now the NPC is probably saying “Good luck!” over and over, not helping you find out where Arnold is. “Alright,” you say, “I’ll just check my quests and see where Arnold is.” No you fucking won’t, because the quest guide isn’t telling you anything! You read the quest info and it says “Go find Arnold” So now you have no idea where this floozy Arnold is and you’re wandering around aimlessly until you find the well the NPC told you a single time he was going to be at.
2. The controls.
The controls aren’t a problem until you’re in a battle. In battle your character moves real-time. In a lot of strategy-rpg’s you can map your movement out before having to dedicate yourself to it. This isn’t the case with Rainbow Moon. Rainbow moon has turns and subturns. Moving and attacking both take up separate subturns. In the beginning of the game you can either chose to move or attack. Later in the game when you get a couple more subturns you can move more squares of movement or attack more times in a row. This is where the problems all start to combine. The sloppy movement with the directional pad can end up making you move your character in a completely different direction than you had intended. I often wasted a turn moving my character back to where he was before the turn had begun. This also ties in with the fact there is no grid on the board. If I don’t pull an attack out to see if the enemies are directly in front of me or slightly angled from me I end up wasting a turn moving to where I thought was in front of them. The iffy analog controls can be somewhat remedied by the use of the direction pad but I could never get used to moving with them. Not to mention when the map is angled the actual direction the up button on the pad will take you can differ.
1. The horrific grinding.
This and the iffy analog controls fought for top prize because, while the grinding is tedious and awful, it doesn’t actually affect the game mechanics and ruin turns for me. I decided to put it at number one just because it’s caused me to reevaluate finishing this game several times. It might just because I started the game on the two highest difficulties they offered (hard mode and no gear), but I just seem to grind nonstop. I have 20 hours invested in this game and so far I’m only level 19. I’m pretty sure the level cap for this game is 999. I have 20 hours in this game and I’m level 19, I can only imagine how many hours I have to put in to be 999. (too many for me) Now I don’t normally dislike grinding. I play several MMO’s and grind my team on Pokemon to hell. I love the feeling of grinding and becoming overpowered so I can slaughter the next part of the story like it’s butter. I can’t stand grinding on Rainbow Moon. I don’t know if it’s the difficulty curve between areas and the fact I can’t seem to take a tiny step forward in the story without grinding for 6 hours, or if it’s just all of the previous problems I have with the battle system making every battle I go into a painful experience. Either way I don’t like grinding in Rainbow Moon, and that in itself has almost caused me to quit and other wise cute and rather enjoyable game.

Leave a Reply

