Soda Stream Into a Healthier Life

Man, do I love coconut oil. I debated talking about the amazing breakfast that I fry in coconut oil and it is my new favorite thing, or my soda streamer that is my lifesblood. I really want to talk about my new favorite breakfast, but my camera is not in hands reach so soda streamer it is!

I have this awesome thing called a soda streamer. You may have heard of it before, it’s pretty popular- especially in  Elder Bearman. This is the one I have!

I have the first and cheapest model. I got it pretty much the year it came out. Actually, in a spur of pure genius, my mom got it for me as a graduation gift. She knew I had an obsession with soda and got this for me as a healthier alternative. I’ve considered getting a nicer one since I’ve been using it for three years, but I don’t really have a need to. This one does everything it needs to perfectly: it makes water fizzy.

What you’re supposed to do with the soda streamer is carbonate your water then add one of their 60 or so flavors to the bottle that you fizz it in. I find their bottled flavors a little too processed and a little too gross. Honestly you might as well just be drinking regular soda, except this soda is grosser.

What I like to do is fizz up my water and pour it into a glass. I use about 2/3rd carbonated water, then I add some 100% fruit juice. I’ve mixed unsweetened tea into too, and really I’m going to think pretty much anything carbonated is great so I’m a little biased.

I think I mentioned my soda addiction before. I usually had about three or four cans of it a day minimum. I knew if I wanted to feel better I was going to have to stop drinking it all the time. So I did, I stopped cold turkey. Luckily I had this lovely beauty to keep me from dying of dehydration.

I have never been good at drinking water. Tap water makes me gag. It might have to do with some seriously bad tap water fro our city I experienced a lot when I was little. I can drink filtered water, but I hate it and it needs to be ice cold or I am supremely unhappy. However, I am completely capable of drinking seltzer water. I am especially capable of drinking seltzer water with juice mixed in.

If you find yourself having trouble cutting soda from your diet, this is the way to go. This completely satiates every craving I have for soda. It’s a great alternative, and a healthy alternative. Not just for you but for the environment too. I would fill garbage bags with cans and plastic bottles, but I don’t anymore!

My friend told me mixing syrups and juices with the seltzer water was called Italian Soda. I’d never heard this term before, but I sound so gourmet now.

Leave a Reply

