(Healthy) Fried Potatoes, Onions and Eggs!

I have my camera so it’s time to talk about my favorite thing! I get a new favorite thing quite often. I eat this thing daily, and especially after my workout. It’s full of delicious protein to get you going. I’m also going to show you how to make it FAST, because frying potatoes can take forever most of the time.

But here you are, reading the title, and thinking “HEALTHY FRIED POTATOES? BLASPHEMY. FRYING IS THE EPITOME OF UNHEALTHINESS.” And to that I say, yeah it kind of is. But we are frying these things in good fats! We’re frying it in everyone’s favorite coconut oil.

Fats are a requirement for a healthy diet, and coconut oil is one of the best sources of fat out there. We’re also not going to use a lot of it, so it’s all going to turn out A-okay.

yum yum eat me up

For my usual amount, which makes a decent sized bowl but is only enough to feed one person, I use half and onion and half a standard russet potato. Chop up the onions into smallish pieces. You’re going to be eating them, so whatever size onion cubes you enjoy putting into your gullet, cut them into those sizes.

Now peel the potato and wrap it up in a damp paper towel. Put that sucker into the microwave for about two minutes. While that’s being partially prepared heat up a skillet and pour in about half a tablespoon of coconut oil. You’re going to be frying your onions to a delicious caramelized brown in this.

Do that. That was the next step; caramelize those fuckers. Beep beep beep goes the microwave. Your potato is ready to be collected! It is incredibly hot, so don’t take it out with your bare hands (I try to do this every. single. time.) Get it over to a cutting board and cube it up. Again, whatever cube sizes you most enjoy eating. The smaller they are the easier they are to fry.

Now push all your onions to the corners of the pan and add another half a tablespoon of coconut oil. Drop all of your slightly baked, adorably cubed potatoes into the skillet and FRY FRY FRY!! Pour some preferred spices onto your potatoes, I just use salt, pepper, garlic and parsley.  I usually fry them for 3-5 minutes, depending on how hungry I am. Since you microwaved them they’re already soft in the middle, so you no longer have to worry about frying until it’s done all the way through.

Now is time for the egg. This is actually going to be scrambled. In a bowl drop one or two or three eggs. (It depends on if this is post or pre-workout for me) Add just egg whites to the bowl if you want.

Add some milk into the bowl. I don’t actually know why, my mom just always did this when making scrambled eggs so I do too. I use almond milk for this instead of regular milk, so that and soy milk will work just find.

Now get a whisk or a fork and mix that all up. Go back over to the skillet and move all those potatoes out of the way, into the same pile as the onions. They’re in trouble right now. Pour the eggs onto the skillet and add some more salt and pepper if you’d like. Mix the potatoes and the onions into the egg and stir fry them all together. In about a minute your egg should be good looking and your meal is complete!

DSC_0136

Does life get any better? No. This is the end of the road. Everything else is going to be a disappointment compared to this.

Bask in your potatoes with a slightly crispy exterior without the bad feelings or surprisingly long amount of time it takes to fry them without using the microwave first.

Leave a Reply

